SHD Logistics is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Still time to enter the Design4Safety awards 2016

Still time to enter the Design4Safety awards 2016

The deadline to enter the BITA Design4Safety awards has been extended to Friday 15th July to allow extra time for busy companies to submit their entries.

The awards are open to all companies exhibiting at IMHX 2016, taking place at the NEC in Birmingham from 13th-16th September.

The Design4Safety awards are all about designing safety into products and services with the aim being to highlight the importance of product or service design in improving safety standards. By focusing on design for safety the awards recognise innovative thinking, regardless of the type or cost of the product or service.

The awards provide the opportunity to highlight the crucial safety benefits of their individual products and services, and a valuable opportunity for publicity. There are six different categories which encompass the whole materials handling industry:

  • Industrial Vehicles
  • Automation
  • Goods-in/Goods-out
  • Racking & Storage
  • Technology
  • Warehouse infrastructure

Entries must include a 150-word explanation of the how the product or service improves safety or eliminates a previously unsafe approach, and a high-resolution image, JPEG or GIF, up to 2MB. An additional supporting document alongside links to online images or video that supports the entry can also be submitted.

Products or services entered don’t have to be newly launched, but must be available at the time of entry and for at least six months after the awards are announced. Winning entries will be those which provide the strongest evidence of a measurable contribution to the level of safety awareness, or rate of incident reduction achieved by the design.

The new deadline for entries is Friday 15th July 2016 and should be submitted via the form which can be found at

The last winners of the awards included Hörmann’s Fork Truck Barrier, Crown Lift Trucks’ rider powered pallet truck and Sentry Protection Products’ Collision Sentry device, which alerts fork lift operators to potential collision risks in warehouses. Why not join them?

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.