SHD Logistics is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

IFOY Award 2017 entries welcomed

IFOY Award 2017 entries welcomed

The search for the winners of the IFOY Award 2017 has begun. The entrant portal for the leading international intralogistics award is live, and the manufacturers of warehouse and material handling trucks as well as the providers of intralogistics services and software can now submit their innovations for the competition.

The machines and solutions that come through what is known to be the toughest selection procedure of all can claim to belong to the crème de la crème.

"The key factor in the competition to find the world's best fork lift trucks and intralogistics solutions is innovation," emphasises Anita Würmser, Executive Jury Chairperson for the IFOY Award, "but the jury also always attaches importance to the practicability of the machine or solution."

The total of eight categories covers virtually all areas of intralogistics. Besides the two traditional forklift categories 'Counter Balanced Trucks up to 3.5 tonnes' and 'over 3.5 tonnes', the 'Special Vehicle' category is open to special-purpose vehicles, container stackers, transportable forklifts or heavy-load forklifts with capacities of over eight tonnes.

Both 'Warehouse Truck highlifter' and 'Warehouse Truck lowlifter' are for trucks with a lifting height of below and above six meters. In addition, shuttle vehicles are also admitted to the category 'Automated Guided Vehicle (AGV)'.

The category 'Intralogistics Solutions' does not focus on the vehicles but on planning and implementation expertise. The competition is open to successfully implemented integrated warehouse concepts or intralogistics systems or software solutions, such as warehouse management systems, logistics software, forklift guidance, driver assistant or fleet management systems, always within the context of a specific application.

Another feature is the category 'Special of the Year' with the emphasis on outstanding technical details or components that significantly improve cost efficiency, sustainability or the physical or psychological conditions for the user. Examples include ergonomic innovations like driver cabins or control elements, safety assistant solutions, automation components or new drive technologies.

Intralogistics providers can register for the competition at with immediate effect. Newly developed trucks, trucks that represent further developments or special models with significant technical improvements that came onto market after December 1, 2015 (AGVs, Special of the Year, Solution: since August 1, 2015) are eligible for the award.
Transport logistic fair stages the IFOY Tests in Munich

The decision on which trucks and integrated logistics solutions have the right to call themselves "Best of the Year" in May 2017 is made in a multi-phase selection process. In the first phase, an independent jury of international trade journalists nominates the most promising candidates from among all the entries. These “Best of the Best” vehicles then have to undergo a neutral test and the scientific IFOY Innovation Check on the trade fair grounds in Munich. The two test series compare the finalists with their respective rival trucks and provide the jury with important information on which to base their decisions.

The IFOY Test is conducted by Dutch trade journalist Theo Egberts, while the Innovation Check is performed by the Fraunhofer Institute for Material Flow and Logistics.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.