SHD Logistics is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Everywoman awards celebrate a decade of driving change

Everywoman awards celebrate a decade of driving change

Thirty-three of the most inspirational role models in the UK’s transport and logistics industry have been announced as finalists in the 2017 FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards.

Celebrating its 10th anniversary, the awards programme was first established to shine a light on women excelling in their careers, creating visible role models to inspire a next generation of much-needed talent to follow in their footsteps. Ten years later, the UK government is still addressing a skills shortage in key areas such as engineering, construction and project management and the rail industry alone will require 55,000 more workers by 2020.

This is only a fraction of the issues FTA, everywoman and the programme’s supporting partners aim to tackle by encouraging and nurturing more female talent.

From programme managers transforming the supply chain at DHL, Asda and Morrisons to women delivering stellar customer experience in the bus, coach and shipping sectors, the women shortlisted are a testament to the breadth of career opportunities in transport and logistics.

In its 10th year, the programme has a new format. The awards will celebrate both successful industry leaders and those individuals at any stage in their career who have gone ‘above and beyond’ for their organisation. In addition, the Industry Champion Award will recognise an individual who is championing the progress of women working in transport and logistics.

The finalists for the 2017 FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards are:

The Freight Award – sponsored by Eddie Stobart - Awarded to a woman demonstrating how she is innovating in the sector
Above and Beyond

  • Claire Smead, Expediting Lead, Shell Trading & Shipping Company Ltd
  • Tracy Ward, Contract Manager, PD Ports
  • Gillian Watson, Customer Relations Manager, Wincanton


  • Jan Overthrow, Transport Supervisor, CM Downton Ltd
  • Amanda Slowley, National Operations Manager, Wincanton
  • Jannette Wallace, Runcorn Depot Manager, CM Downton

The Passenger Award - Awarded to a woman demonstrating how she is improving the customer experience
Above & Beyond

  • Linsey Frostick, General Manager, Arriva
  • Victoria Garcia, Accessibility and Communities Officer, Brighton & Hove Buses
  • Sophie Moorby, Depot Manager, Go North East, from Newcastle Upon Tyne


  • Shirley Connell, Divisional Manger, Go North East
  • Michelle Hargreaves, Managing Director, Stagecoach East Midlands
  • Jacqueline Taggart, Customer Experience Director, ScotRail

The Infrastructure Award - Awarded to a woman demonstrating how she is improving road or rail infrastructure
Above & Beyond

  • Caroline Milnes, Programme Manager, Tesco
  • Katie Wallace, Planning and Development Manager, TNT UK
  • Stacey Wood, Senior Manager - LCOM Project, Support & Governance, Asda Stores Ltd


  • Liz Hobbs, Knowledge Management Functional Lead, Transport for London
  • Sue Kershaw, Managing Director, KPMG
  • Patricia Manton-Hall, Programme and Strategy Directorate, Programme Controls Director, Development and Operations, HS2 Ltd

The Supply Chain Award – sponsored by DHL – Awarded to a woman demonstrating how she is improving processes within supply chain
Above & Beyond

  • Jeny Hanvey, Customer Service Manager, Kuehne + Nagel Ltd
  • Rebecca Harper, Senior Supply Chain Manager Online & Wholesale, Morrisons Plc
  • Julie McCaffery, Change Manager (Scotland), Asda Stores Ltd


  • Claire Brouquet, Commercial & Development Director, DHL Supply Chain
  • Gillian Joyce, Former National Fleet Manager, Post Office Ltd
  • Dawn Rasmussen, Programme Director, Allport Cargo Services

The Warehousing Award – sponsored by Amazon - Awarded to a woman demonstrating how she is innovating and improving warehouse operations
Above & Beyond

  • Claire Davidson, Senior Project Manager - Logistics Implementation, J Sainsbury’s Plc
  • Charlene McLaughlin, Temp Area Manager Dock, Amazon
  • Amanda Percival, Department Manager, Asda Stores Ltd


  • Tracey Clifford, Head of Home Fulfilment, Wincanton
  • Natalie Frow, Plant Manager, Royal Mail Group
  • Angela Howard, VP Operations – Retail, DHL Supply Chain

The Industry Champion Award – sponsored by  Asda Logistics Services - Awarded to one individual only, male or female, demonstrating the impact that they have had on attracting and retaining women in the industry

  • Melanie Clarke, Customer Service Director, Highways England
  • Michelle Naylor, Regional General Manager – Midlands, Palletways UK
  • Jacqueline O'Donovan, Managing Director, O'Donovan Waste Disposal Ltd

Maxine Benson MBE, co-founder of everywoman, comments: “In the decade since everywoman created these awards to celebrate women working in transport and logistics, there have been significant changes in the industry landscape, not least in an increased focus from all sectors to attract more talented women to it.

"These awards continue to play a critical role in demonstrating the breadth and variety of careers transport and logistics has to offer women. This year’s finalists are all great role models and ambassadors for the industry and we wish them all continued success.”

David Wells, Chief Executive of FTA, adds: “The logistics industry is one of the UK’s most important, employing more than 2.54 million people across the country and ensuring that all aspects of our economy continue to work as efficiently as possible. FTA is delighted to support the FTA everywoman in Transport and Logistics Awards once again, to pay tribute to the incredibly talented women working right across the sector who keep industry moving.

“At such a time of great change and economic uncertainty, we need to inspire young people and showcase aspirational role models – our finalists today certainly fit the bill. The teenagers of today are the transport managers and logistics directors of tomorrow and these awards will help us to raise the profile of our sector throughout the country, as well as rewarding those who have shown exceptional dedication and ability.  Many congratulations to them all.”

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.