SHD Logistics is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

DP World wins RFG’s top award

DP World wins RFG’s top award

The Rail Freight Group (RFG) has named DP World as the winner of its coveted Business of the Year award.
DP World’s work on the London Gateway Project and at Southampton's Maritime Rail Terminal were singled out by the judges and in particular, the company’s involvement in “helping move the rail freight industry forward and setting the standard to which others should follow”.

Judges said DP World is “a key player in building the future for rail freight” and were extremely impressed with how the company has delivered “consistently strong projects and initiatives with a high degree of focus on customer care”.
They went on to say: “DP World has shown a strong willingness to invest in its services and go beyond its call of duty, which has resulted in tangible benefits and performance improvements.”
The sponsors Simon Coppen of Burges Salmon and John Smith of GB Railfreight (GBRf) [pictured] presented the Awards at the dinner at Shendish Manor in Hertfordshire.
Tony Berkeley, RFG Chairman, said: “These awards recognise and celebrate all those who have strived to deliver even greater successes in an increasingly demanding rail freight market. I would like to say a huge congratulations to everyone in DP World’s team involved with these fantastic projects and the further enhancement of rail freight in the UK.

"The RFG awards continue to go from strength-to-strength, and we encourage all our members to consider entering. They are well known for being different to other award events, apart from being the only awards dinner dedicated to rail freight, they are informal, which is always really appreciated by all of our guests.”
RFG Awards are judged independently and we would also like to thank our panel of judges: Richard Hope, railway journalist; Jeremy Candfield, Railway Industry Association; Stephen Joseph, Campaign for Better Transport; Simon Coppen of Burges Salmon; and John Smith of GBRf.
The winner of the overall Business of the Year award is selected from all the entries and based on successful all-round performance throughout the judging period. A number of companies won awards on the night helping make the evening a huge success.
On the night some £2,165 was also raised for the Railway Benefit Fund, the chosen charity of the RFG Awards Dinner.
Other winners and runners-up on the night included:
Customer Care
Winner: Network Rail Freight Team
Runner-up: HPUK Port of Felixstowe
Runner-up: ABP Hams Hall
Environmental Innovation
Winner: Direct Rail Services Ltd
Runner up: Malcolm Logistics
Technical Development
Winner: Interfleet
Winner: Lloyds Register Rail and WH Davis Ltd.
Railfreight Project of the year
Winner: Drax
Runner-up: DP World and Atkins
Support Service Provider of the year
Winner: Electromotive Diesel Ltd
Runner-up: Network Rail, National Supply Chain
Outstanding Individual Contribution
Winner: John Gallagher, DB Schenker Rail UK
Commended: Colin Clarke, ABP Humber

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.