SHD Logistics is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Annual Seahorse Awards highlights best journalists in martime trade

Annual Seahorse Awards highlights best journalists in martime trade

Tuesday evening saw over two hundred media professionals gather in London for the Annual Seahorse Club Journalist of the Year Awards, which this year included ten categories, including Environment, Innovation, Feature Journalism and New Reporting, and two honorary awards.

Linton Nightingale of Lloyd’s List Containers took home the top prize of overall Seahorse Journalist of the Year for his, according to the judges, “Forward-looking insightful coverage of key challenges, including Spanish ports labour disputes, President Trump’s protectionist policies and growing reefer trades.” Paul Berrill of Tradewinds+ took runner-up spot.

Long-serving Seahorse Club stalwart and veteran of the maritime PR business Judy Cheslin was presented with the Club’s Lifetime Achievement Award and Brian Sullivan, recently retired from TT Club but still very much involved in the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport, received the Personality of the Year Award.

A record number of entries (269 articles in all) were received from 71 journalists from around the world. Sam Chambers of the Asia-based Splash 24/7 won International Editor of the Year and Baltic Transport Journal from Poland’s Przemek Myszka was awarded Supply Chain Journalist. This category was particularly closely contested with American Randy Woods of Air Cargo World coming in second.

As ever the Club owed much to the night’s sponsors, which were; AAL Shipping, Associated British Ports (ABP), American Bureau of Shipping (ABS), Air Canada Cargo, DNV GL, GEODIS, International Transport Journal, PSA International, SAL Heavy Lift, TT Club and Wallenius Wilhelmsen Line (WWL).  The Club’s nominated charity, Transaid also benefited to the tune over £1500.

There was a double triumph for Mike King, winner in the News category and runner-up for the Feature award.  The later was won by Tanya Blake of Safety at Sea, while the Air Cargo trophy went to Roger Hailey of Air Cargo News with Chris Lewis for his contribution also to Air Cargo News as runner-up.

Other journalists who were celebrating a win included; Helen Kelly, Lloyd’s List for Social Media; Sophie Barnes, Heavy Lift & Project Forwarding International named  Newcomer of the Year; Felicity Landon, Port Strategy in the Innovation category and Andrew Linington, Nautilus and Nick Savvides, Fairplay, respectively winner and runner-up of the Environment Award.

The Seahorse Club is a networking group for journalists and professionals in the freight transport, shipping and logistics sectors founded in 1963.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.